Food Tec

Head of STEM
Mrs S Davies


The WJEC Level 3 Diploma in Food Science and Nutrition is a two-year Applied General qualification. It is designed primarily to support learners progressing to university. It has been designed to offer exciting, interesting experiences that focus learning for 16-19 year old learners through applied learning.


On the Diploma in Food Science and Nutrition you will study three units in total, this comprises of two mandatory units and one optional.

The mandatory units are:

Unit 1: Meeting the Nutritional Needs of Specific Groups.

This unit will enable the learner to demonstrate an understanding of the science of food safety, nutrition and nutritional needs in a wide range of contexts, and through on–going practical sessions, to gain practical skills to produce quality food items to meet the needs of individuals.

Unit 2: Ensuring Food is Safe to Eat. The second mandatory unit will allow learners to develop their understanding of the science of food safety and hygiene; essential knowledge for anyone involved in food production in the home or wishing to work in the food industry. Again practical sessions will support the gaining of theoretical knowledge and ensure learning is a tactile experience.

The optional units are-

Unit 3: Experimenting to Solve Food Production Problems.

Unit 4: Current Issues in Food Science and Nutrition.


The specification provides a suitable foundation for the study of academic or vocational courses in Higher Education, including careers in Food Technology, Nutritional Science, Sports Science and Diet, Consumer Protection and Food Retail and Manufacture.


5 grade 9-4’s GCSE or equivalent plus English at grade 4.